You guys need to know about Rachel Chalmers: Featured Artist

Interested in local art and music? Rachel Chalmers is about as local as you can get. She is a Wofford student from Spartanburg, majoring in Environmental Science, who likes to sing and create visual art in her free time. Whether you enjoy listening to gentle, indie-inspired vocals or admiring amazingly detailed, richly colored paintings, you will love Rachel’s art. Find her music here: https://m.soundcloud.com/rachel-eloise-chalmers/sets/original-songs. Happy listening!

sun&sea- Rachel

 

  1. How did you begin creating art?

I’ve been drawn to singing my whole life, and the same goes for visual art. I used to write songs for my pets and sing them when I was a little kid, and doodling has always been a pastime. I’ve gotten more and more into singing/songwriting and visual art as I’ve gotten older- I love them both.

  1. What kinds of things inspire you (both in your art and in everyday life)?

It’s hard to say what inspires me because a lot of things do in various ways; I try to find the beauty in almost everything, and that continues to be a strong influence for me.

Dance-Rachel

  1. What do you think the purpose of art is? What has art meant to you?

To me, the purpose of art is to give you an emotional response- make you feel something. Humor, sadness, wonder, a reminder of something- all these can be triggered by a piece of art, which is pretty cool.

  1. What do you think about art on Wofford’s campus community? How do you think it could be improved?

I think the creative scene at Wofford continues to improve as time goes on. I’ve gotten to see it change tremendously for the better since I was a freshman; more attention is being paid to creativity and there seems to be more encouragement to students on campus to express themselves.  I think if there were more open mic nights here, that would be even better. SCATE Night is a great event whenever it’s held; I’ve seen amazing talent during those things.

moon&sea- Rachel

  1. What do you consider your best piece of art, and how did you get the idea for it?

I have no favorite piece of art, I like them all for different reasons and they come from different experiences I’ve had. There are definitely some I don’t favor, especially a few songs or art pieces from a while ago- cringeworthy. But as for recent work, I feel a pretty equal connection to most of what I’ve done, and that’s exciting for me.

We think your paintings would make great album covers, Rachel. We can’t wait to see and hear more from you–We know it will continue to be fantastic!

 

Thank you to all of our readers and your interest in our cause. We sincerely appreciate your readership and support, and we’ll continue to find great artists to share with you!

-Anna Katherine-

One thought on “You guys need to know about Rachel Chalmers: Featured Artist

Leave a Reply

